Pay it forward

Yesterday I had to do a mystery shop for a daycare, when I got home and went to do my paperwork, I realized I didn’t have my wallet.  I almost had a heart attack…well maybe I did have a slight heart attack.  I’ve never lost my entire wallet before.  I sat around for hours calling all the places I’d been to and hoping someone would have the decency to fess up if they did find it.

The last place I’d been was a car lot to test drive a few cars…I KNOW I had it in my hand when I test drove the first car.  I called the place up and asked the dealer if he’d found it.  He sent his employee to go check inside the two cars that I tested out.  He came back on the line and told me nothing was found.  My heart sank.  I had EVERYTHING in my wallet, all five of our kid’s social security cards, my ID, my school ID, a voided check, my bank card, all of my credit cards and so on….

I was sick to my stomach thinking of all the possibilities.   I was making up possible scenarios of my kids having their identities stolen and having horrible credit before they were even old enough to have credit.  I thought about how I’d have to replace my ID with no way to identify myself, because all of it was in my wallet…I was a nervous wreck.

My husband came home and we had to go to Walmart for some groceries, as we were walking through the Golden Corral parking lot, this man drove up and said, “Hey do you know this lady?” and showed us my ID!!!  I about jumped out of my skin because I was so relieved!! He then pulled out the rest of my wallet and told us he’d found it in the middle of the road…right in front of that car dealership.  Thankfully, everything was in it.  I offered the man some money for returning it, but he refused and simply said that he wanted it back with the rightful owner and that was good enough for him.  This man had driven miles to return my wallet.  He didn’t have to do that at all…he’d gone to our house that was listed on my ID and just happened to see us walking and recognize me from the picture on my ID.

I’m so thankful that this man was so kind to go out of his way to do a good deed…now I hope that all of you would go and do a good deed for someone…pay it forward, because you’ll never know when you may need it in return.  Fill up your karma bank with random acts of kindness that are expecting no return…then one day when you least expect it and need it most, the favor may be returned to you!!

About Jen

I'm a stay-at-home mom and have a total of five children.
This entry was posted in all about me, Life, Money, Random acts of kindness, Strangers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pay it forward

  1. Darlene says:

    WOW!!! Awesome that you got it back. I was sick to my stomach for you yesterday. My sister was in the habit of carrying everything in her purse, including the children’s birth certificates. I learned the lost wallet lesson early on while in college. I worked a Christmas part-time job. I just got paid and every cent I had was in that wallet. (Which wasn’t much by today’s standards, but in 1966 $26 was a lot to lose.) A few weeks later, an envelope arrived at my address with part of the contents of my wallet, but no money and no high school diploma! Well…not actual diploma, but the neatest little laminated copy that I received at graduation with my regular diploma. I have FOREVER regretted that loss. Now I will tell you what I told my sister…MAKE COPIES and put your originals in a safe place! I am go glad you got your wallet back. God bless that man! (((hugz)))

    • Jen says:

      I am very happy that he dame out of the blue and had the courtesy to seek me out to get it back to me. You have no idea the relief I felt when all the contents were still there!! I’m glad you got most of your stuff back and I’ll have to make a copy of my stuff and put the originals away…I just have a feeling that if I do that, I’ll forget where I put the originals bc I’m a little empty-headed at times 😉 lol

  2. Ann Gallien says:

    Girl, you were so blessed. Glad that turned out ok. I lost mine once and know the feeling. I left mine in the grocery cart when leaving the grocery story. I had a friggin maple donut in my hand and I guess I thought I had everything. To a fat girl at the moment that was everything. lol I ran back to the store after arriving at my next stop and realizing it was not there. The people at the store said no one had turned one in so I ran to the bank and started notifing everyone so no one could use my card or checks. When I stopped by my house, my daughter said someone had called and said they had it. I guess the lady who took it home with her wanted a reward, she could have turned it in to the store. Everything was there and I did pay her a reward and she took it with no hesitation. At least I got it back.. I, to this day always think of that everytime I see a maple donut. I blamed it on the donut instead of the nut between my ears.

    • Jen says:

      Aww, lol…you are way too hard on yourself Ann. I’m glad you got it back even if the person who found it was greedy. At least you didn’t have to go through the process of getting all new identification and new credit cards, etc. I was REALLY worried about the ID part, and I’m sure you know how long it took me to get my ID in the first place!! lol

  3. Johnny K. Young says:

    That was awesome, Jena. I know you were in KNOTS yesterday over your wallet. I’m glad everything turned out okay. It just goes to show that there are STILL decent people in the world! 🙂

    • Jen says:

      I was really happy that someone decent found it, the only issue was my bank card was folded in half…someone had gone thru it, but he’d found it after they tossed it:)

  4. Shelli says:

    Oh Jen, that’s wonderful news! I had a similar thing happen back when I was still in high school. Went to the grocery store, back when I actually carried a purse. Stopped out front to buy one of those poppies that veterans sell (do they still?). At some point, my wallet fell out of my purse, and I didn’t know it. I had money in my pocket for what I was buying at the store. I got home, threw my purse on my bed, and didn’t think about it till the next morning. When I went to do my routine check to make sure I had everything for school, I realized my wallet was missing. The only thing of any real importance was my drivers’ license (which I’d just gotten!) and a few irreplaceable pictures. I might have had $20 in there, too. I freaked out about it all day at school. That night, while we were eating dinner, the doorbell rang. It was an older couple with my wallet! I offered them all the money I had in there, but they refused. They drove a good distance to where I lived, which was way out in the middle of nowhere and hard to find. Some people are just good people. I’ve always tried to pay it forward, with everything I do.

    Oh, buy a small fireproof lock-box. You can get them fairly cheap at Walmart for under $50. Keep your originals in there. And never ever carry your (or your kids) SS card with you! It says it right on the card.

    • Jen says:

      I know it says that, but I have lost them and had them all replaced so many times, only to find them later…I had figured if it was all in my wallet, I wouldn’t lose it. But of course my head is never on straight so yeah…lol

      I’m glad you got yours back too. That was nice of them to bring it to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

